coverphoto earth day 2021 (1).png

About the SEG's Earth Day Series

The Sport Ecology Group was founded in early 2019 and launched on Earth Day (April 22) 2019. 

Each year, to celebrate the anniversary of our group's work and to enrich our knowledge-sharing efforts, we host an online series of panels and workshops. 

The schedule for 2021 is below (in US/CAN times; with downloadable schedules tailored to the British, European, Australian and Kiwi time zones).

 

*Please note: Attendance is free, but registration is required.*

In 2021, we are grateful to be partnering with the British Association for Sustainable Sport (BASIS), the Sport Environment Alliance (SEA) which is active in Australia and New Zealand, and the North American Society for Sport Management (NASSM)'s Student Board to deliver content that is rich, international, and relevant to different audiences.

Schedule (US/Canada Times)

Thursday, April 22

 

10:30-11 EDT / 7:30-8 PDT

Opening Remarks

https://ubc.zoom.us/j/66532223814pwd=NE1OMjBScGcrSEMwRGpEalc1K1FyQT09

  • Dr. Maddy Orr, Co-Director of The Sport Ecology Group, Assistant Prof. at SUNY Cortland and Researcher at UBC

  • Dr. Brian McCullough, Co-Director of The Sport Ecology Group, Associate Prof at Texas A&M University

  • Dr. Andrea Collins, SEG member, Senior Lecturer at Cardiff University

  • Rob Johnson, VP Transportation and Sustainability at Seattle Kraken

 

11am-12pm EDT / 8-9am PDT

Impact Analysis: How Climate Change is Impacting Sports

in partnership with BASIS

https://ubc.zoom.us/j/66532223814pwd=NE1OMjBScGcrSEMwRGpEalc1K1FyQT09

  • Dom Winter, Program Manager at Protect Our Winters UK

  • Dr. Iain James, Head of Facility Services at England and Wales Cricket Board

  • Louisa Tholstrup, Head of Legacy Programs and Sustainability at Extreme E

  • Jessica Murfree, PhD Candidate at University of Louisville & SEG member

  • Dr. Russ Seymour, Chief Executive at BASIS (Moderator)

12-12:30pm EDT / 9-9:30am PDT

Fireside chat with Lauren Barnes, Captain of OL Reign (NWSL)

Join us for the conversation on Clubhouse!

1-2pm EDT / 10-11am PDT

State of the Field: Sustainability in Pro-Sports

https://tamu.zoom.us/my/sportecology.earthday

  • Dr. Brian McCullough, Co-Director of The Sport Ecology Group, Associate Professor, Texas A&M University

  • Claire Poole, Founder of Sport Positive

  • Nyaniso Sam, Sport and Brand Communications Consultant

  • Matthew Campelli, Founder of The Sustainability Report and Director of Sustainability at Touchline (Moderator)

 

6:30-7:30pm EDT / 3;30-4:30pm PDT

Warming Up: The Future of Sport in Hotter Temperatures

in partnership with SEA

https://zoom.us/j/93465429734pwd=SlBkY3JlbE5qVkcyN25reDFEYzQ4QT09

  • Dr. Blair Trewin, Senior Research Scientist at the Australian Bureau of Meteorology

  • Dr. James Smallcombe, Post-doctoral Research Associate in the Thermal Ergonomics Laboratory in the Faculty of Medicine and Health at the University of Sydney

  • Dr. Greg Dingle, Lecturer of Sport Management, LaTrobe University & SEG member

  • Dr. Sheila Nguyen, Executive Director of the Sports Environment Alliance (Moderator)

 

Friday, April 23

 

12PM-1PM EDT / 9am-10am PDT

Student Workshop: Serving the Sport Sector Through Research

in partnership W/ NASSM student board

https://ubc.zoom.us/j/63124190920pwd=N0MrZTNOaE9hdGFtbmY5M050Z3o2dz09

  • Dr. Maddy Orr, Founder of SEG, Asst. Prof of Sport Management at SUNY Cortland

  • Dr. Lindsey Darvin, Director of The Institute for DIII Athlete Well-being and Athletic Leadership, Asst. Prof of Sport Management at SUNY Cortland

  • Georgia Teare, PhD Candidate at University of Ottawa, Student Board President at NASSM (Moderator)

DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE IN GMT / CET

DOWNLOAD SCHEDULE IN AEST / NZST

Registration

To register, please take the time to fill out the information below.

Support the SEG

The Sport Ecology Group is a fiscally sponsored non-profit. 

Our team works on a volunteer basis to deliver new SEG content, events, resources and research on a regular basis. We offer our events and resources for free, with the goal of advancing climate action in the sport sector.

Please consider making a donation to help us keep our resources and events free and frequent.

 

Subscribe to get the latest research and updates. No junk, we promise.

© 2021 Sport Ecology Group